Click here to enable the accessibility widget for this website (Can also be opened using the Alt+9 Key)

Issue With This Marker?

Report an Issue
County: Franklin

Morehead House

Marker Number: 

819

Location: 

Main and Washington, Frankfort

Built by Mark Hardin, Registrar, Ky. Land Office, in 1810. Before Civil War, home of six prominent Kentuckians; among whom were John Harvie, Pres., Bank of Ky., and, for 13 years, Charles S. Morehead, Governor (1855-59). Lawrence Tobin acquired it in 1874 and it was held by heirs to 1961. He built railroad, Lexington to Louisville, and was local merchant 48 years.

Subjects: