History Awards

The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) sponsors the Kentucky History Awards to recognize outstanding achievements by historians, public history professionals, volunteers, business and civic leaders, communities and historical organizations throughout the commonwealth.

Does that apply to you or someone you know? Let us know! Download a nomination form (opens as PDF).

We will accept nominations for the 2017 History Awards through 4:30 p.m. EDT, Friday, June 2, 2017.

We always encourage organizations, individuals and communities to nominate deserving projects and individuals for their efforts to promote the preservation, awareness and appreciation of state and local history. And when we build each other up and recognize the great work going on, everyone wins.

Recipients are honored each November in Frankfort during the annual KHS membership meeting and awards presentation.

Want to see the winners from 2016? Check out the list here (opens as PDF).

If you attend our annual awards event, you will hear about other award recipients:

Governor’s Award

The Office of the Governor and the Kentucky Historical Society jointly present the Governor’s Award award to an author whose book, as judged by a panel of scholars, is deemed to have made the most significant contribution to Kentucky history. The award was established in 1979 and is given every four years in the last year of a governor’s term. The list of all winners is here (opens as PDF).

Richard H. Collins Award

This annual award honors Richard H. Collins, a trailblazing Kentucky historian, and goes to the author of an article from The Register of the Kentucky Historical Society judged to have made the most outstanding contribution to Kentucky history. A panel of historians makes the selection. Find a list of past winners here (opens as PDF).