Click here to enable the accessibility widget for this website (Can also be opened using the Alt+9 Key)

Kentucky Sestercentennial Commission

Kentucky Sestercentennial Commission

The Kentucky Sestercentennial Commission is established to plan and implement events leading up to the 250th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence, July 4, 2026.

Kentucky commissioners consult on the multi-faceted statewide commemorations reflecting Kentucky’s role in the United States of America's first 250 years. Within this advisory role, commissioners will connect, advocate, and advise for the direction of this commemoration. 

Commission Members


  • Ed Clark


  • Edwin Clark, Attorney at Law, Citizen Member/Appointed by Governor 
  • Stephen Cawood, Attorney at Law (Ret.), Citizen Member/Appointed by Governor
  • Rufus Friday, Executive Director, The Hope Center, Citizen Member/Appointed by Governor
  • Susan Rieber, Chief of Staff, Office of Lt. Governor, Education & Workforce Development Cabinet
  • Secretary Michael Berry, Cabinet Secretary, Tourism, Arts & Heritage Cabinet
  • Scott Alvey, Executive Director, Kentucky Historical Society (Commission administrative agency)
  • Craig Potts, Director, Kentucky Heritage Council
  • John Ernst, PhD., KY Humanities Council Member, Kentucky Humanities Council
  • Russ Meyer, Commissioner, Kentucky Department of Parks
  • John Fox, PhD., Board Member, Friends of Boone Trace, Inc.
  • Larry Disney, Fort Boonesborough Foundation Board Member, Fort Boonesborough Foundation, Inc.
  • Erin Gilliam, PhD., KY AAH Commission Member, Kentucky African American Heritage Commission
  • Tressa Brown, KY Heritage Council, Kentucky Native American Heritage Commission

Upcoming Meetings

The America250KY Commission will hold its next meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, at 1:00 pm ET via Zoom video conference. This meeting is open to the public and the media. To attend this meeting, please use the following meeting login credentials:

KHS is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: America250KY Commission Meeting

Time: April 16, 2024 1:00 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android:

Password: 488106

The agenda and minutes from the last meeting are attached.  Please contact Stuart Sanders ( with any questions.

America250Ky Commission Administrator