Teacher Advisory Committee

The Teacher Advisory Committee (TAC) advises the Kentucky Historical Society on all KHS educational programming to help make it relevant for Kentucky students and teachers. TAC members do this by drawing on both their classroom experiences and their knowledge of Kentucky’s current and future standards. TAC is strictly an advisory group. While KHS will consider all recommendations, it is not required to use TAC member suggestions.

TAC Members

  • TAC has 11 members who may be public or nonpublic school teachers, home school parents or come from educational cooperatives, universities and colleges, school district administration and the Kentucky Department of Education.
  • KHS seeks to have a committee made up of at least one representative from the elementary, middle and high school levels and represent each of the eight Kentucky Junior Historical Society districts (PDF).
  • Membership is for a minimum of one year and a maximum of three years.
  • Members will receive one free KHS membership, lunch at meetings and travel reimbursements for meeting attendance.

TAC Member Responsibilities

  • Travel to Frankfort for meetings twice a year (typically once in the fall and once in the spring).
  • Meetings are at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History.
  • Inform KHS staff of new initiatives and movements within their educational communities and represent their educational communities to KHS staff.
  • Provide advice on existing and new KHS programs.
  • Advocate on behalf of KHS within their educational communities.
  • Prepare for meetings by reading materials provided.

GLI Teacher of the Year Award

Each year, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History (GLI) honors a history teacher with the National History Teacher Award. The Kentucky Historical Society assists GLI in this effort as coordinator for the Kentucky History Teacher of the Year Award. Recipients of state awards are finalists for the national award, along with recipients from the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and U.S. territories.

GLI conducts this award program as part of its mission to promote the study and love of American history. Preserve America co-sponsors the award.

A nomination form for any K-12 teacher is available year-round. The form and deadline information is on the GLI website.

For information about the Kentucky award, call 502-564-1792.

Past Kentucky History Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

2017: Jennifer Faith, Eastside Middle School, Mt. Washington
2016: Emmanuel Stone, West Middle School, Shelbyville
2015: Geco Ross, McNabb Elementary School, Paducah
2014: Sharon Graves, Graves Clark Moores Middle School, Richmond
2013: Christina Cornelius, James E. Farmer Elementary School, Louisville
2012: Ron Adkission, South Oldham Middle School, Crestwood
2011: Donnie Wilkerson, Jamestown Elementary School, Jamestown
2010: Ashley Adkins, Paducah Tilghman High School, Paducah
2009: Martha Elizabeth Randolph, The School for Creative and Performing Arts at Bluegrass, Lexington
2008: Keely C.J. Green, North Oldham Middle School, Goshen
2007: Tammy Spratt, Sheperdsville Elementary School, Sheperdsville
2006: Tim S. Foster, DuPont Manual High School, Louisville
2005: Virginia Allen Gooch, Hanson Elementary School, Hanson
2004: Patricia J. Morris, Ballard High School, Louisville